top of page

Stickers

Updated: Mar 29, 2022

This week I found myself wondering about stickers. Stickers are everywhere. Laptops, skateboards, phone cases, notebooks. Water bottles are so covered you can't even see all the stickers because there are layers! My dad once called my age group "the generation of stickers," or something like that. In fact, while I was waiting in line to eat this week, someone was walking around offering free stickers to promote his camp. Nobody took the free flyers another lady was handing out, but many people were delighted with the sticker. The girl in front of me gasped, "Yes, please!" when she was offered one.

What is it about my generation and stickers? I am tempted to wonder if it could be seen as a metaphor: cheap and non-permanent, non-committal something or something... But I don't even finish that thought out because it doesn't sound like it's going to be a very flattering metaphor. And I, too, like stickers.

Could stickers be a visible part of the ever-popular motto "collect memories, not things"? Are stickers a cheap and personalized way to remember memories? Or could stickers simply be a way to express your artistic side through aesthetics?

No one else seems to know the significance of stickers either. They don't have to have sentimental value. Now I and many other students at George Fox have a sticker on our water bottle for Black Diamond camp- where we have never been and never plan on going.

Maybe stickers don't have a deeper meaning. So then neither does my writing about them. Maybe this is just the musings of a college student observing things around her and scratching her head at the things humans attach significance to. But still, stickers are kinda fun…



10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn

©2022 by Clara's Blog. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page