top of page

Job Skills

Updated: Mar 29, 2022

Purpose Statement: This blog post lists five skills that I have had experience or been trained in, showing potential employers examples of my past experiences and work ethic.



While looking through the Job Skills Checklist on Purdue Owl for class, there were a few skills that especially stood out as something I have had considerable experience in, have taken classes on, or else enjoyed the opportunities I’ve had to try it. Below some of them are listed, as long as a description of what I experience I have or a story of how I have grown in the area.

Counseling others:

Two years ago I had the amazing opportunity to be an "advocate" in a counseling case at our church, and watch first-hand how Biblical counseling works. As an advocate, I was not usually the one giving the counsel in the office. But during the week and in between sessions, I was the one to check up on the counselee and make sure she was doing okay, was able to do the homework, and give "emergency counsel" in a crisis. Since then, I have been trained in Biblical counseling through my church. I figured I was often the one my friends came to for help, so I should get help in doing my best to present myself as one approved, rightly handling the Word of Truth (2 Timothy 2:15).

Negotiating and arbitrating conflicts:

Some of the most practical and frequent practice I've had in this has come through my babysitting and nannying experience. It hardly takes explaining to describe how many little conflicts come up between little children. I had further experience in diffusing conflict between adults when I worked as a cashier at a grocery store. I got lots of practice there at soothing hurt feelings, making people feel heard and understood, and making the customers always feel right- even when it meant quietly taking the blame for something I did not do or smiling off an intended insult aimed at me. Most of the time, a soft answer would indeed turn away the wrath (Proverbs 15:1) and a good sense of humor kept things from escalating very much.

Speaking to the public:

Last year, I took a public speaking class at a local community college. I had to prepare and give six different types of speeches (a wedding toast, an informational speech, telling a short story, and more) of various lengths and meet certain requirements of the maximum amount of filler words, staging and blocking, and what to do with my hands. It was a really fun class, and I learned a lot! I have also often taught children's classes at my church, as well as given presentations in front of everyone about my missions trips.

Serving others:

I've had a lot of experience with a lot of different types of serving. From volunteering on the A/V and worship teams at church, to watching children for free for friends, to literally being a server at a retreat center, to working with customers in multiple different types of jobs, to staying late at work or switching shifts.

Gathering information:

This was actually one of my top five strengths when I took Clifton's Strengthfinders test: the ability to collect and archive information. This can come through in a lot of ways. For example, finding information from various sources for essays and academic papers, or learning advice and information from various people in order to thoughtfully answer a question I was asked about some spiritual or Biblical topic, or even just researching random things or historical events for fun.

16 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn

©2022 by Clara's Blog. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page