top of page

A Scholarship Application

Updated: Mar 29, 2022

This blog post describes a particular scholarship opportunity that other students might be interested in as well.


Later this year, I plan on applying for a scholarship offered by the Jane Austen Society of North America (JASNA). It is an annual scholarship they offer, and all you have to do to enter is write a long paper (6-8 pages) about the topic they give you. This year, the topic is focusing on the family and sibling dynamics and pairs in the book Sense and Sensibility. There are first, second, and third place cash prizes, and each place also gets special editions of her works as well as a one-year membership in JASNA (which, I confess, I don't know what that entails. I don't care so much about that as the scholarship).

I want to apply for this scholarship for many reasons. The most obvious is that scholarships are the only reason I am able to attend college in the first place, and in order to continue my education, I have to apply for as many scholarships as possible. But the reason this one, in particular, interests me is that I am already a big fan of Austen and her work. I have read all her works at least one or two times, sometimes more. I have already done research papers on her, her works, and her times, so I consider myself knowledgeable enough to write a paper about her. I have read books by her and about her, watched movies and documentaries, written research papers, and literary analyses of her work. Based on my previous knowledge of Jane Austen, I think that this opportunity will not only be a doable one for me, but also an enjoyable one! If you are also a fan of Austen or are looking for scholarships, you should apply too!

27 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn

©2022 by Clara's Blog. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page