top of page

A Resume Example

Updated: Mar 29, 2022

Purpose Statement: This post explains which example I modeled my resume after, and why other students may want to use it as well.

I had already written my resume earlier this year, but I have since revised it several times, and most recently I made it look more similar to one of the examples provided by the IDEA Center at George Fox University. The template that I based my resume on is this one: https://www.georgefox.edu/offices/idea-center/career/grneralresume3.pdf.

I chose this template because the number of skills, education, and experiences that Michael Scott put on his resume are most similar to mine and what I have to say, so it was easiest to copy. It gives a good summary of work and volunteer experiences and gives enough room to share other skills in a summary at the end. While the scholarship I'm applying for does not actually require a resume, if it did I would send in the one I made based on this because it gives an opportunity for me to show my detail-orientedness and love of learning, as well as my love of writing. Since the whole point of this scholarship is to show my love and knowledge of Jane Austen, a resume that has a lot of writing and emphasizes that I am always eager to learn more would be important. I want the people who would see this resume to know that I did my research, I worked hard on the application, and I really do care not only about winning the scholarship but also about the topic of the essay.


Some of the things I did similar to Michael include: a professional summary at the beginning, my LinkedIn link at the top, and bullet points when describing details under bigger headings. But I did a few things differently on my resume than Michael did. For example, in my professional summary, I stayed away from the first person, whereas Michael uses it a lot ("I use..." or "I lead..."). I also had less detail on my previous work experiences because I had more to fit in.


One template that I will not really be using is the following: https://www.georgefox.edu/offices/idea-center/career/resumeinstructiontemplate.pdf


I won't be using this one because I am supposed to keep mine down to one page, and this one takes up two pages. It also doesn't work as well for me because I don't have as many involvements, project experiences, or awards and certificates that I want to showcase on my resume.


If your past experiences sound similar to mine or Michael's you may also want to consider using Michae's template!


15 views4 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn

©2022 by Clara's Blog. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page