top of page

A Cover Letter

Updated: Mar 29, 2022

Purpose Statement: This cover letter intends to persuade the leadership at JASNA that I am a good candidate for the scholarship competition.

Dear Members of the Jane Austen Society of North America,


I am applying for the Jane Austen Society of North America’s essay scholarship, which I found after some extensive searching online. I know and love Jane Austen very well and am excited to write an extensive essay on her book Sense and Sensibility in hopes of winning a scholarship.


I have been a fan of Jane Austen and her works for a long time, ever since my first exposure to them. The very first time I ever experienced her was through the 2005 movie adaptation of Pride and Prejudice. I really liked the movie and was delighted to find out it was originally a book. I read the entire book in a weekend and enjoyed it even more than the movie. Thus began my addiction to all things Jane Austen. I quickly read all six of her published works, becoming as big a fan of Austen as any young teenager could. Of course, I wasn’t satisfied once I had finished all her books, so I tried the world of other spin-offs and regency romances- only to quickly learn there was no one else who write those stories as she could. If I wanted Jane Austen, I had to read Jane Austen. I have since re-read her books a few times.


I have always loved learning, and for the majority of my life, my favorite way to learn was through reading classic literature. Austen was my introduction to the classics- and I for that among other things I am indebted to her. Every time I re-read an Austen novel, I learn something more about writing style, about life in Regency England, or about my own life and the people in it. I have watched movies and documentaries about her, as well as read every book I could find about her, her life, and her writing style.


Thank you for taking the time to read this and my following essay.


Sincerely,

Clara




11 views3 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn

©2022 by Clara's Blog. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page